Basque Country awards third wind concession to Eólicas de Euskadi

Google Translate

Despite mounting whispers of favouritism from losing developers following the granting of its first two concessions for wind development, the Basque Country's regional government has again awarded its third wind concession to Eólicas de Euskadi, developer of the previous two. Eólica de Euskadi is equally controlled by regional utility and distributor Iberdrola and the regional government's energy agency, Ente Vasco de Energía (EVE). In 1999 Eólicas de Euskadi put up the 24 MW Elgea plant, an experiment to see how well wind would work in the region. Following the Elgea experiment, the regional government drew up a siting plan broadly defining seven areas for development and capping total installed wind capacity at 175 MW to 2005. The plan was rubberstamped last year and was quickly followed by the first development concession to Eólicas de Euskadi -- for 25.5 MW for the Oiz district (Windpower Monthly, December 2002). The latest concession is for an extension of Elgea.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles
and free email bulletins.

Sign up now
Already registered?
Sign in